image003This week we have been considering the “Hero’s Journey.”  We have been learning so much about ourselves and that in this journey we call “life” there are many factors that would derail us from our true being.  The reading we have done and are doing is teaching us that we must change the world within in order to create a better world without.  In other words, our life experience is an outward expression of our thoughts.

th-54As children we are filled with wonder as we learn about the world around us.  Watch a child encounter something new and they approach it with interest, enthusiasm, and curiosity.  As we grow, go to school, get a job, etc. the wonder disappears.  We are shaped to fit in and live as others think is normal.  So many of us are living lives of “quiet desperation.”  Working daily to have the “good life.”

Am I ready to break from the mold of “normal?” Yes I am.  Is it easy to do?  No, it is a challenge.  There is some comfort in the normal activities of our lives.  We are where we are in this life journey due to our past experiences and how we have been shaped and molded.

Yes, I am ready to break from the mold and do the work required to break free.  At this point in the hero’s journey I am excited and scared about the truths I am learning.  I am working to push through the fear and move forward.  The past truly does not have a hold on me.  The present is the only reality and the future holds wonderful promise!

th-53As Og Mandino says in the scroll we are currently studying:  “I am nature’s greatest miracle.”  “I am here for a purpose and that purpose is to grow into a mountain, not to shrink to a grain of sand.  Henceforth will I apply all my efforts to become the highest mountain of all and I will strain my potential until it cries for mercy.”

Watch me grow!

th-55